At the Meridian Centre, we place great emphasis on the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework, recognising it as a vital tool in supporting the holistic development of young children. The EYFS framework not only guides our approach to early education but also aligns closely with the natural stages of brain development in children. Understanding these developmental processes helps us provide the best possible environment for learning and growth.

The Foundations of Brain Development

During the early years, a child’s brain undergoes rapid and significant growth. This period is crucial as it lays the groundwork for cognitive, social, emotional, and physical development. By the age of three, a child’s brain reaches about 80% of its adult size, making early experiences and interactions profoundly influential. The EYFS framework is designed to support these formative years by providing a comprehensive approach to early education.

Prime Areas of Learning

The EYFS framework identifies three prime areas of learning that are particularly important for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, as well as for building their capacity to learn, form relationships, and thrive. These areas are:

  1. Communication and Language: The development of communication skills is crucial for cognitive and social growth. Engaging children in conversations, reading stories, and encouraging them to express themselves helps build their language abilities and supports overall brain development.
  2. Physical Development: Physical activities and play are essential for brain development. Movement enhances neural connections and helps children develop motor skills, coordination, and overall physical health. The EYFS framework promotes activities that support both fine and gross motor skills.
  3. Personal, Social, and Emotional Development: Building secure relationships with caregivers and peers is fundamental for emotional and social brain development. The EYFS framework emphasises creating a safe and supportive environment where children can develop self-confidence, manage their feelings, and learn social skills.

Specific Areas of Learning

In addition to the prime areas, the EYFS framework includes four specific areas that build on the prime areas and provide a more detailed focus on learning and development:

  1. Literacy: Early exposure to books, storytelling, and writing activities fosters literacy skills. The EYFS framework supports activities that enhance children’s understanding of language, phonics, and the joy of reading, crucial for cognitive development.
  2. Mathematics: Engaging children in counting, sorting, and problem-solving activities helps develop their mathematical understanding. These activities stimulate logical thinking and spatial awareness, important aspects of brain development.
  3. Understanding the World: Exploring the environment, learning about different cultures, and engaging in scientific activities help children make sense of the world around them. This area supports cognitive development and fosters curiosity and investigative skills.
  4. Expressive Arts and Design: Creative activities such as drawing, music, dance, and role-play encourage children to express themselves and develop their imagination. These activities stimulate different parts of the brain and promote emotional and social development.

The Role of Play

Play is a central component of the EYFS framework and is recognised as vital for brain development. Through play, children experiment, explore, and learn about their environment. It provides opportunities for problem-solving, social interaction, and creativity, all of which are crucial for developing cognitive and emotional skills.

Observation and Assessment

The EYFS framework encourages continuous observation and assessment to understand each child’s unique development journey. By observing children, caregivers can tailor activities to meet individual needs and support areas where children may need additional help. This personalised approach ensures that each child’s developmental milestones are recognised and nurtured.


At the Meridian Centre, our commitment to the EYFS framework reflects our dedication to supporting the optimal brain development of every child. By understanding the natural stages of brain development and aligning our practices with the EYFS principles, we create a nurturing and stimulating environment where children can thrive. Our goal is to provide a foundation for lifelong learning and well-being, ensuring that each child has the best possible start in life.